How does anyone start with sqlicipher at windows and c++?

Hello sqlciphers, i manage somehow to build the sqlcipher and i got the sqlcipher32.lib and the sqlcipher-shell32.exe.

I was having a ready sqlite3 simple application that was creating a database, a table and some functions in it with sqlite3 and i don`t know how am i suppose to use sqlichiper inside this application and check if it is working as it should.

As first attemp i just added the sqlcipher32.lib to my project and used the PRAGMA key=‘testcode’ but the database that was created was not encrypted.
I added also the code #define SQLITE_HAS_CODEC but nothing happened too.

I want to implement the sqlcipher in a c++ mvs2013 project.

Can anyone point me where and how to start using it as a total noob i am ?

Thank you in advance

Hi @Nocs

Congratulations on building the library. The simplest way to verify the library was built properly is to run the SQLCipher shell program and execute the following SQL statement within the prompt:

sqlcipher-shell32.exe
sqlite> PRAGMA cipher_version;

This command will report back the SQLCipher version compiled into the library. Next, you can use the SQLCipher shell program to create an encrypted database. An example:

sqlcipher-shell32.exe test.db
sqlite> PRAGMA key = 'test';
sqlite> CREATE TABLE t1(alb);
sqlite> INSERT INTO t1(a,b) VALUES ('one for the money', 'two for the show');
sqlite> .q

Next, you will want to verify the raw content of the test.db file, making sure you do not see plain text, but rather random data. You can utilize a tool such as hexdump to do this, here is a link to a build for Windows.

hexdump -C test.db

If either you don’t see a version number printed above, or the raw hex dump of the database is in plain text, your library was not likely built properly.

I confirm that sqlcipher is a marvelous encrypter for sqlite database :smiley: and congruts to all developers.