How to save, re-open, and load an SQLCipher-encrypted (Room) Database in Android?

I’m just really new to Android programming in general and by no means a professional so I hope you can help me.

I was able to encrypt and export database after reading the documentation. However, I am unsuccessful in doing the following:

1. Re-opening the database after exporting a copy of it
  2. Loading a saved copy

This is how I built the database:

public static SampleDatabase sampleDatabase;

public static synchronized SampleDatabase getInstance(Context context) {
	if (sampleDatabase == null) {
		final byte[] passphrase = SQLiteDatabase.getBytes("userEnteredPassphrase".toCharArray());
		final SupportFactory factory = new SupportFactory(passphrase, null, false);
		sampleDatabase = Room.databaseBuilder(context.getApplicationContext(),
				SampleDatabase.class,
				"sample_database.db")
				.openHelperFactory(factory)
				.build();
	}
	return sampleDatabase;
}

In my ActivityMain, I implemented the following:

@Override
protected void onCreate(Bundle savedInstanceState) {
super.onCreate(savedInstanceState);

// import android.database.sqlite.* has been replaced by net.sqlcipher.database.*
    SQLiteDatabase.loadLibs(this);

// other lines such as initializations of views, etc.

}

This is how I implemented an export / saving of the encrypted database:

private void copyDatabase() {
	System.out.println("is db instance open? " + SampleDatabase.getInstance(getApplicationContext()).isOpen());
	// at this point, this returns: is db instance open? true

SampleDatabase.getInstance(getApplicationContext()).close();
	File dbfile = getDatabasePath("sample_database.db");
	File sdir = new File(getFilesDir(),"dbsavefolder");
	String sfpath = sdir.getPath() + File.separator + "sample_database.db";
	if (!sdir.exists()) {
		sdir.mkdirs();
	}
	File savefile = new File(sfpath);
	try {
		savefile.createNewFile();
		int buffersize = 8 * 1024;
		byte[] buffer = new byte[buffersize];