Upgrading to sqlcipher 4 and split databases

Hi sqlcipher team,

Firstly, I want to thanks to sqlcipher team for providing the this great library.

I’m an android developer, and I have a special requirement while upgrading to sqlciper 4.
Please check below digram firstly:

As we can see, I want to upgrate exist single 3.x database(with default setting) to 4.x database(with default settings) and split into several databases.
I’ve checked below thread before I raise this topic:
upgrading-to-sqlcipher-4

I have 2 assumption:
Option 1:

1. Create empty new1.db, new2.db, new3.db

2. Follow option 3 under upgrading-to-sqlcipher-4, then use sqlcipher_export() to export the whole data to new1.db, new2.db, new3.db

3. Drop the redundant tables for new1.db, new2.db, new3.db, e.g. for new1.db drop table 4, table 5, table 6, table 7, table 8, table 9

Option 2:

1. Create empty new1.db, new2.db, new3.db

2. Follow option 3 under upgrading-to-sqlcipher-4 to attach new database, but follow below suggestion to copy table contents to new tables:
    INSERT INTO new.TABLE SELECT * FROM old_db.TABLE;
    https://stackoverflow.com/questions/2359205/copying-data-from-one-sqlite-database-to-another
    https://tableplus.io/blog/2018/07/sqlite-how-to-copy-table-to-another-database.html
    http://sqlite.1065341.n5.nabble.com/Best-way-to-quot-split-quot-a-large-DB-into-two-DBs-td91297.html

As my personal understanding, option 1 might cause performance issue, as we copy all tables to new database which is unnecessary.

I’m not an expert on sqlite, could you please help to provide suggestion for above 2 options?
Or maybe provide any better suggestion/solution for this special requirement?

Thanks

Hello @hwbest I would recommend option 2 for the performance and deficiency benefits.